Weekday Ocoee Paddling

Trip Date: 
Thu, 06/01/2017 - 10:00
Trip Date: 
Thu, 06/08/2017 - 10:00
Trip Date: 
Thu, 06/15/2017 - 10:00
Trip Date: 
Thu, 06/22/2017 - 10:00
Trip Date: 
Thu, 06/29/2017 - 10:00
Trip Date: 
Thu, 07/06/2017 - 10:00
Trip Date: 
Thu, 07/13/2017 - 10:00
Trip Date: 
Thu, 07/20/2017 - 10:00
Trip Date: 
Thu, 07/27/2017 - 10:00
Trip Date: 
Thu, 08/03/2017 - 10:00
Trip Date: 
Thu, 08/10/2017 - 10:00
Trip Date: 
Thu, 08/17/2017 - 10:00
Trip Date: 
Thu, 08/24/2017 - 10:00
River/Location: 
Ocoee
Trip Skill: 
Intermediate

I will probably be too busy guiding on weekends to coordinate Saturday or Sunday trips. However I will likely have time to private boat most Mondays and Thursdays between Memorial Day and Labor Day; contact me if interested.

Watch the first Ocoee Whitewater Video of the season

My plan is to arrive early and paddle as much as possible. Water turns on at 10:00 am. Laps at Grumpy's are possible as well as attainments in Gonzo Shoals.

Best places to camp include:

  • Thunder Rock - quiet campgroud but don't drink beer or smoke flowers here! Rangers will bust you.
  • OAR - generally quiet on week nights. Has nice trees to hang hammocks and decent shower houses $5/night if you don't poach like most dirtbags.
  • River Rats - best choice for those desiring a quiet campground where they can still enjoy a few beers.
  • AU - party campground with Bus Bar, Mexican Restaurant, and nice shower house. This campground is not quiet more often than not.

Fred